To boycott or not to boycott

Sorry for the lack of posts lately people. I have started no less that 15 entries, only to decide they weren’t appropriate or were not something I wanted online. I have had a pretty tough couple of weeks but have come out from this testing time stronger than ever!

Boycott or not?

Boycott or not?

So, with that out the way, this is my latest dilemma. Do I boycott the Beijing olympics? I am seriously considering it because the closer we get to the games, the more stories I hear of serious human rights abuses, stories about the outcast being abused, stories about the kind of people Jesus calls us to care for being unfairly maligned. But at the same time I know just how tough this will be for me.

Now obviously, following Jesus comes at a cost. I suppose I am ‘wary’ of going into this for the SAKE of counting cost, seeing it as an example of something I can do, in my own righteousness, so I can come out of it saying ‘I’m such a good Christian’. I don’t like to admit it…but it is very possible for me to do.

But I also don’t want to NOT do it just because it will be bloody hard. There isn’t many things I like more than Sport (God obviously being one of them but)…and I absolutely LOVE watching as much of the olympics as humanly possible.

A few mates have already announced there intentions to boycott (so I am not even original) and have pointed out how they are unsure if it will achieve much…and this also makes me question a boycott. But at the same time I don’t wish to get into the habit of ONLY doing things that achieve something, or at least in the way we like to see things achieved. Sometimes its just about following Jesus command, standing up alone against oppression.

So I guess i want to pose you the question as I wrestle with the issue myself. What are you doing and why?

One Response to “To boycott or not to boycott”

  1. […] Boycott or Not – Part 2 Posted July 30, 2008 Filed under: Causes, Justice, Poverty, Sport | A few days ago I posted about my current dilemma, whether I boycott to Olympics to stand against human rights abuse. The post can be found here. […]

Leave a comment