Boycott or Not – Part 2

A few days ago I posted about my current dilemma, whether I boycott to Olympics to stand against human rights abuse. The post can be found here.

I have thought very seriously about this and have made a decision. I have decided that rather than make a quiet, personal stand that in my opinion doesn’t actually achieve much…I have made a substantial donation to amnesty international.

Amnesty International
Amnesty International

Amnesty International are an organisation that makes human rights abuse their target. They do a lot of work around the world standing up for the less fortunate.

Though they are not specifically Christian, they are supported by many Christian organisations and have many Christian members. I also totally believe that much of the work they do is exactly what God would have us be doing, so I am happy to throw some finances there way and I trust them to use it wisely.
The reason I chose them mainly is because they are really focussing on these olympic games. When considering a boycott, I really wanted to think about what would actually ‘help’ those put out by this event. This is not to say that I don’t think a boycott helps, enough people standing together makes a difference. I guess I just felt that these games are happening, and I also am very patriotic when it comes to sport and want to be able to support the Australian athletes. I hope (and believe) many athletes will be speaking up while at the games, so I feel ok watching this event.
Having said this, on my conscience is also ‘so what will happen when the games end’. When the world spotlight goes…I fear China will just slip back into its old ways. It is for this reason i chose donating over boycotting. Boycotting makes a stand during the games…but some of the main issues I believe will occur when they are all over, and it is my understanding that Amnesty won’t be stopping just because the games stop.
I have no issue with people who have made the decision to boycott. In many ways it is easier for me to ‘donate’ and still watch the games rather than boycott, so all the power to you all! I hope that, together, with the many different ways people are maiing a stand, we can help those that have been and will be put out so the world can watch this sporting spectacle.

One Response to “Boycott or Not – Part 2”

  1. I think that’s a great idea. I might do something similar. I don’t intend to boycott the games yet I don’t disagree with those who choose to do it either. Consistency is the key I reckon. If anyone wants to boycott a sporting event in a country with a poor reputation in human rights, then you must do for every country with ‘bad’ reputations.

Leave a comment